Good Works Tour


Anna Cavaliere by jamesintrocaso
July 11, 2008, 11:45 am
Filed under: James

I am sorry to announce that the Good Works Tour departure date will be delayed. For those of you who donated or are anxiously awaiting the trip, we will probably leave a week or so from our original depature date (which was to be yesterday, July 12th). I promise that this isn’t a big scam or anything to those who did donate and are expecting updates. Our first video will be out this week.

This unfortunate delay comes from a death in my own family. My grandmother passed away early this morning and I will need to spend the time with family and friends. Tim and Zach have not only been very understanding in these circumstances which have delayed the trip, but they have been understanding as friends as well. Many other friends have been supportive as well. One of the last things my Gran said to me was that she was so proud that I was going on this trip and that she wished she could come along for the experience.

Anna Cavaliere was an amazing woman filled with undying, dedicated love for her family. She was a loving wife, sister, mother, and grandmother. Her loyalty to her family was simple and secure and warm and even from the time she was a young woman, she was very bright and caring.

For me, my memory of my Gran will always be connected to her love of the grandfather I never knew. Carmen Cavaliere, from whom I take my middle name, is a person I feel I have come to know through my grandmother’s stories. While she was in the hospital and then at our home while she was living with us she was always carrying his picture in a little plastic bag, to preserve it’s mint condition, even though the photograph was taken while my grandfather was fighting in WWII. That’s just the sort of dedication she had to her family.

I take comfort in the fact that my Gran is now with Grandpop Carmen. I’m sure they will be taking care of each other and are probably in the process of trying to plan a vacation to the Jersey Shore. Anna was 87 when she passed, and her life was filled with many joys, family, and strength.

Goodnight, Gran. Here’s to bus rides in the city, McDonald’s trips, spaghetti in pink plastic bowls, letting me stay up late to watch cable TV,  letting me sleep over when I was a kid, savings bonds, Christmas Eve dinners, Christmas night desserts, making pasta, making pitzels, gifts from QVC, plastic Christmas trees, stories from before, passing on traditions, a strong love of family and a host of other memories that I will always have with me. You will be missed and we know you are at peace.

Thanks for your support, Good Works fans. Though the trip is delayed, it shall go on. First stop, Washington DC to see our buddy, Kaner! (There’s a name drop!) Please keep checking back for updates, this time I mean it when I say our first video is coming soon.

Thanks,

James

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

James,
Your letter about your grandmother is beautiful. She sounded like a wonderful person and a
loving grand-mom. Our condolences to you and your family.
Love
The Wiseley’s

Comment by Linda wiseley

Dear James,

My deepest sympathies to you and your family, and most especially your mother. For a girl to lose her mom at any age is a deeply transforming loss. You are in my prayers.

warmly,
Fern Love

Comment by Fern Love

Dear James,
Thank you for this beautiful remembrance of your Gran. She was so proud of you and loved having you for a grandson. You are a pretty terrific nephew too!
Love you, Tia

Comment by Tia

James,

I’m so sorry for your family’s loss; I know your grandmother meant a lot to you. My thoughts and prayers are with you guys.

Mike

Comment by Mike Benesch

Best of luck to you and your family. I know how hard it was for me when my grandmother passed. ❤

Comment by Danielle Graf

I’m sorry to hear about your loss. You’re all in my prayers.

Comment by Alison Graf

james, best of luck to you and your family…ps: i have the name of yoyr g.m. …

Comment by anna




Leave a Reply

